Improv Sweater. Week Four: Changing Course a Bit

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Come outside, Aja!” say the pumpkins and the ‘mums. Yes, I think I will. Thank you for the invitation.

I am in the midst of making a dark grey heathered Moneta by Colette Patterns. However, it’s an absolutely beautiful day, so I feel compelled to go outside before the door to summer slams shut and we in the Pacific Northwest have to deal with dark drizzle for a few long months.

(Not to mention, I have keen hearing and the burbling of the cidre as it ferments is driving me insane.)

img_4308
I am not a pen-and-paper artist. Sorry, folks.

Consequently, I am back on the trail of my #fringeandfriendskal2016 Top-Down Pullover, Migrating Birds. It’s a portable thing to do on a beautiful afternoon, and I’m quite pleased to have the privilege and time to get at it. I think it is evolving a little in my mind. I am happy to pay homage to my heritage, but I’ve been thinking about how I actually want to wear it. A few weeks ago, I did a mini wardrobe round-up to figure out what kind of style I was aiming for with this project. I think now that I think about it, I have many workhorse pullovers, but few stylized ones. I got to thinking: what if I go in a slightly different direction? Nobody is in control here, but me. I started doodling (albeit poorly; forgive the furtive pen strokes and smudges! My book nearly blew away this afternoon, it got so windy).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I love this project so much. I wish I was a bit faster on this one because I want to wear it NOW!
Isn't this fabulous?
Isn’t this fabulous? Total coincidence that it’s very much like my own drawings and ideas; I found it after dreaming up the new plan.

I think that I’m going to make the sleeves to the elbow in a kind of nod to mid-century sportswear, so I can wear this with high-waisted skirts and feel vintage but in a kind of updated way. I’ll finish the bottom with a long swathe of twisted ribbing (as the cuffs will be finished, just as I have done for the neckline). It’s actually a compete coincidence that the above photo looks like what I’d like to do (mostly). I found it after I made my decision to illustrate my thoughts a bit better. Mid-century sportswear is great for my body type, and the best part is that I don’t have to make it kitschy by being too vintage. I can make it modern and my very own.

I’m changing directions, trying something new with this. The point of this creation is to explore a bit. If it doesn’t work, I’ll pull it out and see what happens next!

 

Leave a Reply

